Official Website for Jackson County, Iowa

Jackson County Iowa - Mental Health

  • iStockmentalhealthR.jpg

Eastern Iowa Mental Health And Disability Services Region

Crisis Line Phone Number


Duties and Responsibilities

The Eastern Iowa Mental Health and Disabilities Services (MH/DS) Region officially began operating on July 1, 2014.  The Region serves Cedar, Clinton, Jackson, Muscatine and Scott Counties, with a total population of approximately 300,000 people.

The Region was formed under Iowa Code Chapter 28E to create a mental health and disability service region in compliance with Iowa Code 331.390.  

The community-based, person-centered mental health and disability services system for adults provides locally delivered services, regionally managed with statewide standards.  Regional leaders, guided by the regional management plan, coordinate quality community services that support individuals with disabilities in obtaining their maximum independence.

On July 1, 2020, the regional system also became responsible for implementing certain aspects of the children’s behavioral health system, as passed in HF690 during the 2019 Legislative session.

Jackson County Mental Health is a potential funder for some services for individuals meeting certain eligibility guidelines including, but not limited to, financial, diagnostic and county of residence.

For additional information, contact this office at 563-652-1743.  Or, visit the Eastern Iowa MHDS Region website at:; or the Iowa Department of Human Services website at:

Mental Health Contact Information

Jackson County Courthouse
311 West Platt Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060

Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm

Phone Number: (563) 652-1743
Fax Number: (563) 652-0337

Coordinator of Disability Services:

Lynn Bopes