Official Website for Jackson County, Iowa

  • sheriff.png


Contact Information

Brent Kilburg



104 South Niagara Street
IA 52060


Monday - Friday

8:30 am - 4:30 pm


(563) 652-3312


(563) 652-0662

Staff Members

Jim Kraker

Chief Deputy

 Russ Long


Brandon Beck


 Chad Gruver 


Chad Roeder

Civil Deputy

 Scott Heiar


Melissa Schmidt



Wes Unke



Daniel Blake



Nick Konrardy



Joel Driscoll 

Courthouse Security


Kim Clark

Civil Secretary


Karen Wells

Office Administrator



Duties & Responsibilities


ATV Routes Maps

During the Labor Day holiday period, we typically see an increase in drunk-driving deaths — and that's why you'll likely see more law enforcement on the roads. Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over, which runs from August 17-September 5, aims to educate people about the dangers and consequences of driving drunk.  Stay safe Jackson County!

The sheriff is an elected official serving a four year term.

The Sheriff's Office is responsible in enforcing state, county and city ordinances within the county.

Duties of the office include but are not limited to the following:


Reports of, and investigation of, thefts, vandalisms, assaults, illegal drug activity, reported child

and/or domestic abuse, accidents and all other criminal allegations. Deputies are also responsible for the enforcement of traffic laws.


The Sheriff's Office is also required to carry out duties related with civil process including but not limited to: Original notices and petitions, garnishments, orders, sheriff sales, room and board reimbursements, evictions, protective orders and restraining orders, involuntary commitment of persons with mental illness and /or substance abuse, duties related to condemnation of private property and the execution and return all writs and other legal processes issued by lawful authority.

The Sheriff’s Office patrols 648 square miles of the county and is the chief law enforcement for the cities of Baldwin, La Motte, Monmouth, St. Donatus, Zwingle. The Sheriff’s Office is located in the Jackson County Law Enforcement Center.