Official Website for Jackson County, Iowa

About the Board of Health

Local Boards of Health shall have jurisdiction over public health matters within its designated geographic area according to Iowa Code chapter 137.

Local Boards of Health are required to have a least five members; they are appointed by the Board of Supervisors in accordance with Iowa Code Chapters 77 and 137.

The Board of Health (BOH) is responsible for safeguarding the health of the citizens of Jackson County.The Board consists of five members appointed by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors. The BOH supports the mission of public health by discussing health issues and concerns, soliciting input and sharing plans for public health, developing public health policies, assuring compliance with legal responsibilities and maintaining fiscal accountability.

Board Members

Khristian Becker

Board of health Chair

Term Expires 12/31/2026

Dr. Jerald Bybee

M.D., Board Vice Chair


Term Expires 12/31/2024

Nin Flagel

At Large Board Member


Term Expires 12/31/2024


Sara D. Davenport

At Large Board Member


Term Expires 12/31/2025

Douglas Latham

 At Large Board Member


Term Expires 12/31/2026

Serving on the Board


At least 1 member shall be a licensed physician all other members should have experience or education related to the core public health functions, essential public health services, public health, environmental health services, personal health services, population-based services, or community-based initiatives.


Members shall serve for a term of three years without compensation but may be reimbursed for certain expenses in accordance with the rules stated in Chapter 77 of the Iowa Administrative Code.  Members are eligible for reappointment.  


2024 Meeting Schedule (Call to order 7:00 p.m.)

January 16th

March 19th

May 7th

July 16th

September 17th

November 19th


Meeting Location

Jackson County Courthouse (Lower Level)

201 West Platt Street

Maquoketa, IA 52060

Documents for the latest meeting(s)