RESOLUTION <u>#1009-01-16-2024</u>

APPOINT SAFETY COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

WHEREAS, Chapter 88, Code of Iowa, requires that all employers must furnish to employees a place of employment free from recognized hazards which cause or are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees and comply with occupational safety and health standards adopted under this Chapter; and

WHEREAS, upon recommendation of the Iowa Community Assurance Pool (ICAP) a Safety Committee should be established by the governing body and be composed of five to seven employees representing major departments; and

WHEREAS, the Jackson County Board of Supervisors hereby establishes a safety committee to review safety operations of Jackson County that affect the safety and well-being of employees, officials, and the public and make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors regarding policy and procedural changes; and

WHEREAS, membership of the committee shall be designated by the governing body.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Supervisors of Jackson County, Iowa, to approve the membership of the Safety Committee to include the following representatives, or their designee:

- 1. County Sheriff
- 2. County Engineer
- 3. Environmental Health Administrator
- 4. Conservation Director
- 5. Board of Supervisor Member
- 6. Facility Maintenance Manager
- 7. Human Resources Director

THIS RESOLUTION IS HEREBY passed and approved this 16th day of January, 2024 as follows:

Mike Steines, Chair Board of Supervisors

Nin Flagel, Membe

Don Schwenker, Member

Attest:

Alisa Smith, Jackson County Auditor